William Hutt is the Tempest

A SHAKESPEAREAN GREAT…

Do you know who this gentleman is? Do you know the location where this gentleman stands?

If your answer is Stratford, you probably know your Shakespeare.

No more amazement. (1.2.13)

‘Tis time
I should inform thee farther. Lend thy hand
And pluck my garment from me. So.
Lie there my art. Wipe thou thine eyes; have
comfort. (1.2.23-25)

The man, of course, the most infamous William Shakespeare; his statue is locacted in the front gardens of the Festival Theatre in Stratford, Ontario.

A very remarkable event is transpiring at Stratford Festival Theatre this year, an event that will never happen again, never. Willaim Hutt, the great Canadian Shakespearean actor is doing his last role before retirement: Prospero, in the Tempest.

Last night we had a wondrous opportunity to observe Mr. Hutt live on the Festival stage for the last time, it was great, somewhat sad. The standing ovation at the end of his performance was heard around the world, if one listened carefully. Hutt, at an extremely young 85 was none other than amazing as he roared out line after line after line, living the part in 1600’s, a time when life and values and thoughts were much different than they are today. I could only wonder what Hutt is feeling after each of these final performances, and when he performs this play for the final time this fall, I can only imagine how the emotions will flow – the roaring thoughts that must be running past Hutt, as if his life is running by in slow motion.

As a student of Shakespeare for the past year I viewed life in the 1600’s, but not only the historical background of that era, as well how Shakespeare wrote his plays. During this year-long study I developed a sense of philosophical emotion into Shakepseare’s intellectual mind; it is a place whereby if one ventures one never ever seems to foget where they were and how they got there. To actually see the Tempest performed live, and to the added feature of watching William Hutt perform the role of Prosero is an ultimate and rare fare.

William Hutt, we will never forget. William Hutt will be missed on stage, although he remains in the memories of lovers of Shakespearean theatre forever. Mr. Hutt will forever be remembered as part of the foundation of Shakespearean plays for a very long time, and quite likely, forever and ever.

(Please note: The above pictures were taken by Gregory West 2005 – for more pictures go to: http://gregorywest.zoto.com))


Now my charms are all o’erthrown,

And whatstrength I have’s mine own,
Which is most faint. Now ’tis true
I must be here confined by you,
Or sent to Naples. Let me not,
Since I have my dukedom got
And pardoned the deceiver dwell
In this bare island by your spell;
But release me from my bands
With the help of your good hands.
Gentle breath of yours my sails
Must fill, or else my project fails,
Which was to please. Now I want
Spirits to enforce, art to enchant;
And my ending is dispair
Unless I be relieved by prayer,
Which pierces so that it assaults
Mercy itself and frees all faults.
As you from crimes would pardoned be,
Let your indulgence set me free. Exit.
(5.1.1-20)

Leave a comment