Boot Camp Fails the Grade

Does APPLE CARE have rotten Apple TECHS?

This was posted in Apple’s forum yesterday and some how the post disappeared and it has been forwarded to Leo Laporte’s Blog:

I use Parallels, a 3rd. product software and find it works very good.

However, I cannot say that for Boot Camp. Here is a post I put in yesterday that somehow disappeared from this forum:

Boot Camp Fails the Grade
Posted: Jan 19, 2008 7:35 PM
Click to edit this message… Click to reply to this topic Reply email Email

First of all, let me say that I am thoroughly disgusted with Apple Care techs.
I won’t even talk about the upwards of 3 hours I spent waiting on the phone today waiting to get a tech, but what I want to say is the service is below an acceptable standard.

I will get back to this later on, for now I want to discuss the problem that 3 Apple Care techs acted as if they knew nothing of what I was talking about.

I activate Boot Camp Assistant, Load Windows Vista. After Vista loads it looks for drivers. I am then instructed to insert driver disc (Leopard). The problem is (and the problem these techs would not acknowledge or listen to) that I cannot eject the Windows disc to insert the Leopard disc for the drivers. The problem is that simple – the solution seems to be a wonderment or a secret.

So, I decided to seek the tech support I paid good money for…That is when more problems from Apple transpired.

After an hour wait I got a tech (who gave me the wrong case number) who had no idea what I was talking about. He kept saying it was a Windows issue and not Boot Camp. Finally, after about 30 minutes on the phone he said I was a Canadian and I had somehow been transferred to the American Apple Care and he then transferred me. This was another 30 minute or so wait until I got Apple Care tech Alec. Who acted the same way. For these guys to say “I don’t do Windows” is wrong. Apple created Boot Camp for users to load Windows. They advertise this and they advertise the ease in which it is loaded. But when you seek help they play dumb and say they are not Windows guys that is truly not acceptable.

For any Mac reps who may be monitoring this post, this here is my case number I was given by tech Alec: 9150493, but guess what, he the other tech left out one digit and thus the number is incomplete. This “Alec” told me that to take a picture of the desktop with the problem and then call him back at: 1-800-275-2273 88 then extension 2210. Little did I know this was a lie. I tried that number and it is the same number I called for Apple Care before. The person who finally answered (after another 30 minutes) said I was not authorized to use that number.

At this point I gave up.

Now I am wondering why I spent good money buying the extended Apple Care tech support when these people do not support Boot Camp.

Gregory West
editor@scug.ca

Macbook Mac OS X (10.5.1)

Leave a Reply

